2014 Scholarship Gala

The Houston Medical Forum 25th Annual Scholarship Gala – “An Evening of Elegance. Celebrating 25 Years of Giving and Commitment to the Community” was held on Saturday, December 6, 2014 at the Westin Oaks Galleria Hotel.  Some 450 guests attended the gala that honored and awarded scholarships to deserving Houston area medical and college students.  The black tie event raised over $150,000. 

Gala chair, Dr. Latisha Rowe and HMF president, Dr. Edward Mazique presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to Dr. Edward A. R. Lord and the Physician Of The Year Award to Dr. L. Natalie Carroll.  The Master of Ceremony was Lloyd Gite and Dr. Kathy Flanagan coordinated the event.  The musical entertainment was provided by Waymon Cook at the VIP reception; Luv Gunn at the gala.

The scholarship recipients included Abiara Agwu, Uchechi Azuike, Kendra Brown, Stephanie Dunlop, Taylor Jenkins, Amber Landry, Lori Mitchell, Abiola Odejimi, Ngozi Okorafor, Fiona Strasserking, Luis Colon Gonzales, Emem Iwatt, Carmen Purvis, Ty’Rania Wilson.